HISTORY AND REPAIR OF EDGEWOOD CHILDREN'S CENTER
The Edgewood Children's Center was founded in 1834 and specializes in the educational and physical care of severely disturbed children. Located in the center of the 23-acre campus is the "Rock House". Completely tuckpointed by Staat Tuckpointing Inc. and recognized as a National Historic Landmark, the "Rock House" serves as a symbol of the tradition of child welfare for the children's center and has its own special history.
It was constructed in 1850 by the Reverend Artimus Bullard, who was related, through marriage, to writer Harriet Beecher Stowe, (Uncle Tom's Cabin). Reverend Bullard operated a seminary for young men at the "Rock House" until 1855 and it is believed that the "Rock House" even served as a way station for the Underground Railroad. Today the "Rock House" houses the offices of Edgewood administrators. For years it had been in need of many repairs and because those at Edgewood have always put the funds towards child care first, those repairs were seemed to never come.
However, once those at Edgewood decided to repair the building, they turned to James G. Staat Tuckpointing Inc. because of its reputation and value. Staat Tuckpointing Inc. helped to repair the exterior of the building by providing tuckpointing to the historical masonry. The unique history and simple elegance of the "Rock House" made this memorable project.